finditinchesterct

What’s For Dinner? Look for the answer at The Local Beet

In Dining, Health, Market on October 8, 2009 at 12:18 pm

IMG_2050

Trying to figure out what is for dinner is sometimes harder for me than actually making the meal. You can imagine the sheer elation and relief I felt when Kim, owner of The Local Beet, handed me a recipe she was featuring this week in her market … and bonus all the main ingredients were in the market as well! This saved me so much time, money & energy! You know how it goes, you can’t think of what to make for dinner, this starts a spinning action in the middle of the store that makes you leave with a handful of ingredients you aren’t actually sure you can create a meal from. Then you say to yourself, ” well at least I was smart enough to grab salad greens, so it looks like big salad for dinner again tonight.” I know, I know, I need to plan my meals out and go shopping once a week … the voice in my head tells me the same thing, but let’s face it, I am 42 and that just isn’t going to happen. Anyway, many thanks to Kim for making my life a little easier and I hope there are more recipes where that came from. The recipe is below, enjoy and don’t forget to check in from time to time to see, What’s For Dinner?

IMG_2043

Potato Leek Soup (serves 4)

This is a quick, versatile recipe that makes for a hearty fall meal when paired with a slice or two of warm bread. (Toasted Sweet Sage Rustica is fantastic with this soup!)

Ingredients

3 Tablespoons butter

3 Leeks, cleaned* and thinly sliced

1 medium onion, chopped

1 carrot, sliced (optional)

6 russet potatoes, peeled thinly sliced

2-3 cups chicken (or vegetable) broth

½ cup dry white wine (optional)

1 bay leaf and 1 sprig thyme or rosemary (optional)

1 cup heavy cream (or half and half, or milk)

Salt and pepper (to taste)

1.  Melt the butter over medium heat in a large saucepan.  Add leeks, carrots, and onions.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until onions are soft and translucent.

2. Add the potatoes to the pot, along with the wine and herbs (if using), and add just enough chicken broth to cover.  Continue cooking over medium heat until the potatoes are soft.   Remove the herbs.  At this point, you can mash the potatoes right in the pot for a heartier stew, or blend the mixture in batches for a creamier version.

3. Add the cream (or ½ and ½, or milk) and salt and pepper to taste.  Cook over low heat, stirring frequently for 10 minutes.  Add the garnish of your choice and serve with a thick slice of hearty bread.

Garnish of your choice (chopped bacon, chives, dill, even hot sauce!

My side notes, I needed a little more than 3 cups of broth. The amount of broth needed depends on the amount of potato. I used olive oil instead of butter because I was out of butter. I did use the 1/2 cup of wine but forgot to add the cream even though I had it, but it was still delicious! We started with lovely greens from the market and with the soup we had yummy, fabulous bread.

… and here is a link to The Local Beet Blog.

Leave a Reply

